School History

Historical Note

Floriana Primary School is considered to be one of the oldest schools in Malta. Attendance Registers show that, way back in 1893, pupils have already been attending this school.

Until recently the School was named after Antonio Galea, the Founder of The Malta Union of Teachers. At the young age of twenty nine Antonio Galea hadAntonio Galea taken the initiative of calling all Maltese teachers together to stand for their rights.  In fact the very first Union meeting was held in the School Hall on November 22nd 1919. There is a commemorative plaque in the School Hall to honour this historical event.

The school is situated in St. Thomas Street, Floriana. The school population is of about 110 boys and girls of ages ranging between 3 and 11. Apart from the Kindergarten classes there are seven Primary classes. The school was given the authorization to set up a nurture class.  The Head of School is Mr Stephen Miceli.

Since the 2005 reform in Education, For All Children To Succeed, the School, together with twelve other State Schools, now forms part of the San Ġorġ Preca San gorgCollege whose Principal is Mr James Camilleri.  The College Motto is “It-Tagħlim huwa l-Għajn ta’ Kull Ġid”, a maxim appropriately taken from the teachings of Saint Ġorġ.

The vision of the school is giving dignity and solidity to the child.  This means that the school is to provide a valid education to all pupils irrespective of age, aptitude and physical or social circumstances which will therefore lead them all to a successful life.

The school’s Mission Statement states that our school strives to give students knowledge and skills as well as a sound ethical and moral behaviour. We strongly believe that the best form of education is one built on a set of core values.